European SJ Championship team announced

  • The BSJA has announced that the following riders have been selected to compete at the European Show Jumping Championships at Arnhem (27 June -1 July 2001).

  • Michael Whitaker

  • Di Lampard

  • Mark Armstrong Andrew Davies

  • Scott Smith

    Fresh blood has been included by the BSJA’s selectors in the final group of five from whom four will jump in Arnhem.

    After her Sydney disappointment, Di Lampardhas bounced back and has earned her place with clear rounds in both her Nations Cups this season. Abbervail Dream is fresh, well and in good form

    Mark Armstrong has fought his way back to the top and confirmed his place at Aachen, where his young mare Elise, produced the best British performance.

    With John Whitaker lacking a suitable horse, Michael Whitaker will have to take his place at “team captain”. Michael has all the experience in the world and his likely ride Prince of Wales FC went well enough at the Sydney Olympics.

    The final team place is between Andrew Davies (Captain Wellington) and 26-year-old Scott Smith (Cabri D’Elle).

    Cabri D’Elle has been doing wonders on a recent three-show tour of Portugal and Spain, while Captain Wellington had a late start to his season, but is now coming back to form.

    For up-to-date information, tickets and timetable of the European SJChampionships (26 June – 1 July 2001) visit www.ecshowjumping.com or www.emspringreiten.com

  • You may like...