Billy Twomey wins HOYS grand prix

  • Billly Twomey claimed a grand prix win for Ireland on the final night of the diamond jubilee Horse of the Year Show.
    Six of the 23 starters went clear to go forward to the jump-off, five Brits and Irish rider Billy.
    Ben Maher went clear on his opener with Robin Hood W, only to have his time beaten immediately by Michael Whitaker (Wonami Van Den Aard). Billy came next and went 0.23sec faster again with his own eight-year-old stallion J’Taime Flamenco. The following three riders – Robert Smith (Kalusha), Laura Renwick (Limelight De Breve) and Tim Stockdale (Fresh Direct Corlato) – all collected four faults each, handing the win to Billy.
    “He’s only young and will get handier as he gets more experience,” said Billy, who was recording his fourth win at the show. “Because of his age, I’m not planning on doing too many World Cup qualifiers with him this winter.”
    Ellen Whitaker, who had thrilled the crowd the previous evening by finishing second in the puissance, claimed the Zinc Management speed horse of the year title with Kanselier, beating Laura Renwick and Beluga by over 1sec.
    Paul Barker won the day’s first international class, the two-phase Grandstand classic, with Elegant C.
    The last national championship of the show was won by Phillip Miller, who produced the only double clear of the grade C final with Di and Pennie Cornish’s Univeau, from Laura Renwick and Roller Coaster II.
    The now 17-year-old New York Spritzer proved he’s lost none of his winning style by partnering Roberta Roe to victory in the myhorseclub.com leading junior show jumper of the year final.

    Don’t miss H&H’s special report from HOYS, on sale Thursday 16 October

    You may like...