What time do the British showjumpers ride in Rio today?

  • The team order for the British showjumping riders at the Rio Olympics has been revealed, allowing us to make a good estimation of what time they will jump today in the first competition.

    The team order is as follows: Nick Skelton, Ben Maher, Michael Whitaker, John Whitkaer.

    With the class starting today at 10am local time, their approximate times (working on the basis of two-and-a-half minutes per round) are:

    • Nick Skelton on Beverley Widdowson’s Big Star — third into the arena, approximately 10.05am local time (2.05pm British time)
    • Ben Maher on Jane Forbes Clark’s Tic Tac — 21st into the arena, approximately 10.50am local time (2.50pm British time)
    • Michael Whitaker on Beverley Widdowson’s Cassionato — 42nd into the arena, approximately 11.42am local time (3.42pm British time)
    • John Whitaker on Team Harmony Management Co Ltd’s Ornellaia — 60th into the arena, approximately 12.27m local time (4.27pm British time)

    Every rider in the competition jumps one round today – discuss the action as it happens with the H&H Live team here – and the results (calculated on jumping faults) determine the starting order for the team competition, with teams starting in reverse order of merit on today’s results.

    Teams start on a clean slate of faults tomorrow, so today’s faults do not actually count towards the team medals.

    Continued below…

    Related articles:

    Today’s results will count towards individual qualification — only 35 riders go through to the individual final on Friday (19 August). Individuals ranked outside the top 60 after today do not progress any further in the competition (although all team riders do jump again tomorrow).

    Full report from the Olympic showjumping in Rio in the issue of H&H published Thursday, 25 August, including full analysis of every round and expert comment from Geoff Billington.

    You may like...