Votes open for Anglo-Irish Horse of the Year award

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • Are you in camp Kauto or devoted to Denman? Or maybe you’re an ardent supporter of this year’s Cheltenham Gold Cup winner Imperial Commander?

    Five contenders — Kauto Star, Denman, Big Buck’s, Binocular and Imperial Commander — are all in the running for the 2010 Anglo-Irish Jump Racing Horse of the Year Award.

    And this year for the first time the public can decide the winner.

    Voting is now open and the award will be presented at the Anglo-Irish Jump Racing Awards on 24 May.

    The shortlist has been drawn up by representatives from Britain and Ireland, including the head of handicapping from both the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) and the Irish Turf Club.

    The contenders were chosen based on their official rating, their work in promoting the sport of jump racing, or a combination of the two.

    At the awards AP McCoy, Paul Nicholls, JP McManus and Rhys Flint, the season’s champion jockey, trainer, owner and conditional will also be honoured.

    Voting will take place via the British Horseracing Authority website at www.britishhorseracing.com/horse-of-the-year/

    Votes must be cast by midday on Friday 21 May.

    You may like...