Trainer Aiden O’Brien takes record third Irish Derby win in a row

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • Aiden O’Brien made history on Sunday (29 June) when he became the first trainer to win the Irish Derby three years in a row.

    The 16-1 shot Frozen Fire was a surprise winner for Mr O’Brien at the Curragh, taking his tally to six Irish Derby wins — bringing him level with his namesake, the legendary Vincent O’Brien.

    Aiden O’Brien won in 2006 with Dylan Thomas and in 2007 with Soldier of Fortune and after the race described his third consecutive win as “unbelievable”.

    Hindu Kush made all the running in the early stages of the race with Mr O’Brien’s other horse Alessandro Volta, ridden by Johnny Murtagh, taking up the lead towards the closing stages.

    But the leader suddenly veered left, badly hampering Luca Cumani’s Curtain Call and leaving Frozen Fire in prime position to take a two-length victory.

    Dermot Weld’s Casual Conquest finished second and evens favourite Tartan Bearer, trained by Sir Michael Stoute, was third after Alessandro Volta was demoted by stewards after the race.

    The Epsom Derby winner New Approach was withdrawn from the race on Sunday morning with what was thought to be a bruised sole, denying Jim Bolger the first English/Irish Derby win since 2002.

    But the trainer has since said this might not be the case and New Approach is having scans today (Monday 30 July) to determine exactly what the injury is.

    You may like...