Racing Welfare’s Pride of Racing awards shortlist announced

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • The 12 finalists for Racing Welfare’s Pride of Racing awards have been announced.

    The Pride of Racing awards recognise the work of unsung heroes in the racing industry.

    The six award winners will be announced at a ceremony at Epsom racecourse on Thursday 14 July.

    Those up for awards are: trainer Richard Phillips, Epsom clerk of the course Andrew Cooper, instructor at the British Racing School Frank Conlon, fundraiser David Lowrie, Newmarket training grounds manager John Taylor, physiotherapist Anna O’Brien, Racing Welfare officer Paul Lodge, breeder Gordon Giddings, Newmarket racecourse stables manager Joyce Wallsgrove, Jockeys’ Employment and Training Scheme manager Lisa Delaney, Pontefract’s head groundsman and stable lads’ canteen manager Ron and Joan Senior and David Winsor who has been a groom in racing for 40 years.

    “The Pride of Racing Awards is one of those rare events in sport where the people behind the scenes are in the spotlight and receive the praise they rightfully deserve,” said Racing Welfare’s Richard Negus.

    “We received an unprecedented 114 nominations which were then whittled down to 29 .The 12 finalists should be incredibly proud of their achievements, I don’t envy the judges having to choose the 6 winners. Princess Anne will meet all 12 and I know that she takes a personal interest in all of them and their stories.”

    For more information visit: www.racingwelfare.co.uk

    This story first appeared in H&H on 30 June 2011

    You may like...