Nominations open for stud and stable staff awards

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy.
  • Nominations are now open for The Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards 2011.

    The awards take place on Monday 28 February 2011 at London’s Jumeirah Carlton Hotel.

    The Stud and Stable Staff Awards were established in 2005 to recognise the achievements of racing’s most dedicated and inspiring staff and boast prize money of £120,000.

    Everyone within the industry can nominate those they feel deserve recognition.

    Nominations can be submitted from today (Monday 15 November) and will close on Tuesday 4 January.

    The six award categories are:

    David Nicholson newcomer award: for those who have displayed a desire to improve, have progressed their skills and knowledge and become an integral part of the team while employed in the industry for less than three years.

    High achiever award: for those managing two or more staff who have displayed leadership qualities amongst their colleagues and peers, a desire to succeed in the industry and strong mentoring skills that have been to the benefit of those around them.

    Rider/groom award: for those who have shown talent for horsemanship, consistency and reliability in and out of the saddle.

    Stud staff award: for those who have shown expertise, dedication and reliability, excellent horsemanship, adaptability and teamwork while employed within a stud.

    National Association of Stable Staff (NASS) special merit award: for a NASS member chosen by a NASS member on the basis that they deserve special recognition for their work within the industry and have acted in a manner to be regarded as a role model for stable staff.

    Dedication to racing award: for a long-serving member of staff who is an integral part of the team, offers a wealth of industry experience and knowledge, and displays dedication and love for the work that they do.

    Each category winner will receive £5,000 and the two runners-up will also each receive £2,000. The winner’s yard will also win the same amount.

    In the NASS category £5,000 goes to just the winner, in special recognition of their solo efforts.

    All category winners except the newcomer and NASS award winners then go forward to the employee of the year award, which has prize money of £25,000.

    British Horseracing Authority chief executive Nic Coward said: “We would like to thank Godolphin for continuing their generous sponsorship. A great deal of time and effort has been put into improving both the nomination and judging process, now it is up to everyone in the sport to ensure that there are a record number of entries in 2011.”

    For more information visit: www.britishhorseracing.com/stablestaff or email: awards@britishhorseracing.com.

    You may like...