Larkhill Racecourse Specialist Awards

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy.
  • Trade Off was crowned the “best horse” for the 2007 point-to-point season at the Larkhill Racecourse Specialist Awards ceremony, which was held at the Larkhill Royal Artillery Officers’ Mess on Friday 27 July.

    Previously best horse in 2005, Trade Off became only the third horse to twice lift the Larkhill Specialist Cup, which was first awarded in 1974. Trade Off’s owners Bill Dupont and Ann Tory received the cup from Hazel Goody, owner of last year’s winner Barton Baron, and award sponsor Bombardier Darren Gray.

    Anne Tory, Bill Dupont, Bombardier Darren Gray and Hazel Goody
    Ann Tory and Bill Dupont, owners of Trade Off, the leading horse at Larkhill in 2007, receive the Larkhill Specialist Cup, accompanied by award sponsor Bombardier Darren Gray and 2006 winner Hazel Goody. Photo by Brian Armstrong.

    Trade Off’s trainer Sally Alner was awarded the Tom Inglis Memorial Cup for best trainer, while the horse’s regular rider Ian Chanin accepted the best jockey awards — the Richard Noyce Memorial Trophy and a framed photograph — from Ryan Bliss and Linda Charles.

    The best owner/rider award went to Winchester-based Clare Wills, who accepted the Elektrik II Challenge Bowl from Jeremy Robb. Caroline Hobbs received the WEBA Cup for best owner/trainer from Larkhill Clerk of the Course, Mike Shaw.

    A special award was made by racecourse trustee Col Jasper Browell to number cloth ladies Brigitte Krstic and Julie Mack, who have both decided to stand down after many years service to the racecourse.

    You may like...