Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards winners announced

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy.
  • David Bradley, flat racing trainer Jeremy Noseda’s head lad, was named “Employee of the year” at the annual Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards Ceremony.

    A panel of judges selected Mr Bradley following an interview day, when they met each of the category winners.

    Frankie Dettori presented Mr Bradley, 57, with a trophy and a cheque for £25,000 — £10,000 of which will be shared among his fellow staff.

    He also won the category of “high achiever”.

    Jeremy Noseda said: “David is, by a considerable margin, the best member of staff I’ve had the fortune of working with.”

    Brough Scott, chairman of the judging panel, said: “We have been blown away by the quality of the winners and this made the decision of choosing the employee of the year very hard.

    “However David Bradley brings a unique mixture of international experience, local achievement and future planning, which exemplifies exactly what these awards are about.”

    The National Association of Stable Staff (NASS) Special Merit award, and its £5,000 prize, went to Willie Musson’s head lad, George McGrath, who is also NASS president.

    He was praised not only for his role within the yard, but for working “tirelessly to make racing a more attractive career, understanding the need for change, and the importance of encouraging the public through the gates.”

    Albert “Corky” Brown, who has been head lad at Nicky Henderson’s yard for 33 years, won the award for “dedication to racing”.

    The awards, sponsored by Godolphin and run by the British Horseracing Authority, are the richest of their kind in the world — with £120,000 in prize-money.

    Each category winner received £5,000 for themselves, and the same amount for their yard or stud.

    The two runners-up in each category won £2,000 for themselves, and the same for their yard or stud.

    Other award winners — David Nicholson Newcomer Award: Ben Howe (Ruth Carr); Rider/Groom Award: Geoffrey Thompson (Michael Stoute); Stud Staff Award: Graham Paxton (Darley Stud).

    You may like...