AP McCoy crowned champion jump jockey for 13th time

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • AP McCoy was crowned champion jump jockey for the 13th successive season on Saturday, 26 April, the final day of the National Hunt season.

    AP rode 140 winners in Britain, his lowest number since first taking the title in 1995-1996. Richard Johnson was second on 122 winners, with H&H columnist Robert Thornton third (105 winners).

    Paul Nicholls became champion trainer for the third season running, as a result of the horses in his Somerset yard winning a staggering £3,646,510 in prize-money.

    David Johnson won the owners’ title for the sixth time — his biggest success of the season was Grand National winner Comply Or Die. And Brian Hughes was champion conditional jockey with 39 victories.

    Meanwhile Kauto Star has won the British Horseracing Authority’s Order of Merit for the second time.

    The 2007 Cheltenham Gold Cup winner picked up £200,000 for his owner Clive Smith, trainer Paul Nicholls and Nicholls’ stable staff. He finished on 100 points, six ahead of the David Pipe-trained hurdler Lough Derg.

    These stories were first published in Horse & Hound (1 May, ’08)

    You may like...