H&H Asks: GW Davison award

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • A reader wrote in to H&H to ask about the significance of the badge worn by several top riders at the national dressage championships. We find out more

    What is the badge?

    IT’S called the GW Davison award, in honour of Richard Davison’s father, Gordon, who died in 1992. It is given to British riders who make it through to the grand prix special at a championship CDIO.

    Why was the award started?

    “IT was given in memory of my late father, who was a great one for encouraging team spirit and working together,” explains Richard Davison. “The award was designed to reward outstanding performance in the team test at European and World Championships and the Olympic Games.”

    The German team has a similar scheme.

    Who has won the award?

    CARL Hester (pictured) is a recipient, as is Emile Faurie, Sandy Phillips, Fiona Bigwood, Laura Richardson, Emma Hindle and Nicola McGivern.

    In December 2006, Wayne Channon and Laura Bechtolsheimer were given their awards at Olympia, following the World Equestrian Games when all four British riders made history by qualifying for the grand prix special.

    This Q&A was first published in Horse & Hound (1 February, ’07)

    You may like...