New names join BHS Hall of Fame

  • Five supremely talented riders and three famous horses have been added to The British Horse Society Equestrian Hall of Fame today.

    Dressage heroes Lee Pearson MBE and Carl Hester, top show jumper John Whitaker MBE, and event riders Pippa Funnell MBE and Lucinda Green MBE join the 15 existing laureates in the Hall of Fame.

    Pippa Funnell’s eventing partner Primmore’s Pride, Nick Skelton’s top stallion Arko III and Leslie Law’s former Olympic ride Shear H2O join the 13 existing equine laureates.

    British Horse Society President Noel Edmonds said: “I am honoured to be able to reveal the new laureates for the BHS’s Equestrian Hall of Fame. Each has made a remarkable contribution to the horse world and won the affection and loyalty of people who love horses.”

    A panel chaired by Chairman Patrick Print FBHS, which included Dr Wilfried Bechtolsheimer and former H&H editor Michael Clayton, selected the laureates. The panel members considered a large number of nominations from the public.

    Mr Print said: “Once again the tough thing was deciding who to leave out. The world of equestrianism would simply not be the same without the great achievements of Pippa Funnell, Lucinda Green, Carl Hester, Lee Pearson and John Whitaker, or the tremendous performances of Arko III, Primmore’s Pride, and Shear H2O. We’re proud of them all.”

    Paralympic dressage rider Lee Pearson said: “It’s a great honour. The moment I think my life is getting back to normality something wonderful and surreal like this happens. It feels unbelievable to get an award for taking part in the sport you love. It is also great for a Paralympic rider to be recognised in this way.”

    Members of the public can still cast their votes to nominate equestrians and horses as laureates in the BHS Equestrian Hall of Fame. Suggestions should be emailed to HallofFame@bhs.org.uk

    You may like...