Equestrian greats welcomed into British Horse Society Hall of Fame

  • Four equestrian legends have been inducted into the British Horse Society (BHS) Hall of Fame.

    Show producer the late Count Robert Orssich, showjumper Malcolm Pyrah and top eventer, showjumper and dressage rider Anneli Drummond-Hay were all welcomed into the Hall of Fame this month. And Anneli’s famous thoroughbred Merely-A-Monarch was also included on the list.

    The ceremony took place on 19 October at the Household Cavalry’s Knightsbridge Barracks in London.

    The Hall of Fame was set up in 2005 to celebrate both human and equine heroes and to promote the equestrian achievements to a wider audience. Plaques to commemorate the laureates are displayed outside the barracks.

    Count Robert Orssich was a Hungarian count who produced the legendary hack Liberty Light and heavyweight hunter Moonstone. He also instigated the first Windsor Horse Show in 1942 with friend Geoffrey Cross. He died in 1987 after freak accident helping load a horse.

    Malcolm Pyrah the World, European, team and individual show jumping medallist represented Great Britain in over 60 Nations Cups. He was also team trainer for the British show jumping team between 1990-2000.

    Anneli Drummond-Hay competed at the very highest level in eventing, dressage and show jumping. She won Burghley and Badminton on Merely-A-Monarch and made five Nations Cup appearances between 1963 and 1970.

    Merely-a-Monarch was voted in a L’Annee Hippique World poll as one of the best 50 horses of the last century.

    The laureates were selected by a panel chaired by Patrick Print and comprised renowned show jumper Liz Edgar, Olympic gold medal-winning eventer Richard Meade, showing star Robert Oliver, Paralympic gold medallist Lee Pearson and Horse & Hound editor Lucy Higginson.

    Members of the public can nominate equestrians and horses as laureates in the BHS Equestrian Hall of Fame by emailing: HallofFame@bhs.org.uk.

    You may like...