British Horse Society announces record membership levels

Membership and financial reserves for the British Horse Society (BHS) are at a high, chairman Patrick Print told members at the society’s AGM held on Thursday 19 June in London.

Mr Print said: “The financial condition of the BHS has never been this strong. Our income is up, expenditure on our charitable objects is up, and our reserves are at an all time high.”

The BHS has gained 10,000 new members in four years — 3,000 of which since last year’s AGM to the current 69,000. Mr Print hopes this will rise to 70,000 by the end of the year.

And the Society’s reserves were revealed as being the highest ever at £1.7million — with Gift Aid, increased membership, a thriving examinations department, sponsors and the appointment of a dedicated fundraiser being cited as reasons for this.

President Desi Dillingham also announced Sarah Bucks, David Kerry and Margot Tiffany as new trustees at the meeting.

Following the AGM, the president’s award was given to Peter Dean for long-term dedication to the BHS and outstanding contribution to equine welfare during his 40 years of BHS service.

Fourteen other long service awards were presented as well as five awards of merit.

Award of merit winners:
Averil Dalby
Alison Harris
Elizabeth Nairn
Carol Porter
Marianne Watts

Long service awards
25 years
Jan Botting
Joan Chapman
Lynn Collins
Jane Kerswell
Sue Rogers
Betty Walker
Sonia Windsor

30 years
Pat Halliday
Margaret Hedley
Sue Quarendon
Charles Stirling
Ellie Thompson
Marianne Watts

35 years
Gay Parkin

40 years
Peter Dean

You may like...