Cream of the crop honoured at British Breeders’ Awards

  • British-bred World Equestrian Games (WEG) medal-winning horses were celebrated at the 16th annual Breeders’ Awards dinner, held on 8 January at Grange City Hotel, London.

    Excellence awards were made to the breeders of William Fox-Pitt’s eventer Cool Mountain — Jane Pilkington, Joanne Eccles’ vaulting horse WH Bentley — James grant, and paradressage rides Ricky Balshaw’s Academy Award — Steve Ross; Emma Sheardown’s Purdys Dream — Mr G Worrall and Anne Dunham’s Teddy — Sally Ann Brown.

    The top award of the evening — the Equestrian Edge Meritoirie for an outstanding contribution to British Breeding went to Henk Minderman.

    Minderman is the man behind the Renkum Stud in Lindfield, West Sussex, the Anglo European Studbook and The Studbook for Irish and European Sporthorses (SIES), whose studbook has appeared twice in the World Breeding Federation for Sport Horses’ top 10 ranking in 2010.

    Mr Minderman said the award was a complete surprise.

    “I think the award reflects the importance of selecting horses for their performance ability and of the importance of the mare/stallion combination,” he added.
    “In eight years time I believe all our top riders will have one or more British-bred horses in their string.”

    The Horse & Hound outstanding mare award went to the Weltmeyer daughter St Pr Welunga bred by Hermann Kahmann and owned by Suzanne Lavandera, who had two other winners on the night.

    Ms Lavadera of UK Hanoverians said: “It was a great night out for us. Dimaggio was the BEF Futurity leading dressage sire, Don Archie was British Dressage six-year-old champion and Welunga was outstanding mare.”

    For a full list of winners, see below:

    Baileys Horse Feeds/BEF futurity certificates of merit

    • Top dressage foal: Lord Farquhar, KWPN
    • Top eventing foal: Tregorran, SHB(GB)
    • Top endurance foal: Muromets Akhal-Teke
    • Top sports pony foal: SOS What Apricot Wants, SPSS
    • Top showjumping yearling: Chicago’s Dylan, SHB(GB)
    • Top eventing yearling: Dovevale Regal Dove, SHB(GB)
    • Top endurance yearling: Peponi, AHS
    • Top sports pony yearling: Bathleyhills Monet, ZfDP/SPSS
    • Top showjumping two-year-old: Kasabian, AES
    • Top dressage two-year-old: Diamond Lil, BHHS
    • Top endurance two-year-old: Ashsham Amir, AHS
    • Top sports pony two-year-old: Abbeywoods Chocolate Brownie, CHAPS
    • Top showjumping three-year-old: Hartpury Sky Is The Limit, SHB(GB)
    • Top eventing three-year-old: Catherston Caractacus, SHB(GB)
    • Top endurance three-year-old: Seren Procyon, AHS
    • Top sports pony three-year-old: Rosewater Breant, SPSS
    • Top dressage sire: Dimaggio
    • Top showjumping sire: Lauriston
    • Top endurance sire: Krayaan Dilmun
    • Top sports pony sire: Bernwode Brokat
    • Top showjumping dam: Carnaval Delight
    • Top eventing dam: Bold Dove
    • Top sports pony: Dam MonaBaileys Horse Feeds/BEF Futurity Awards
    • Foal award: Classictop Lancelot, AES. s: Lauriston d: Renkum Meranta (s: Renkum Lancelot). Breeder and owner Jane Townshend
    • Yearling award: Hammerwood Roulette, WBB (UK). s: Rhondeo d: De-Lite (s: Dimaggio). Breeder and owner Pippa Drew
    • Two-year-old award: May Be Valentine, (AES). s: Renkum Valentino d: Velea (s: Niveau). Breeder and owner Sally Davey
    • Three-year-old award: Premier Royal Mint, (OLD). s: Royal Hit d: Oleander (s: Ilmeo). Breeder Mr Johnson, owner Ami McLean
    • Stallion award: Grafenstolz, TRAK. s: Polarion d: St Pr St Gipsy Lady (s: Camelot)
      Breeder Gestut Heinen-Bonninghardt, owner The Stallion Company
    • Mare award: Katinka, KWPN. s: Rossini d: Violetta (s: Le Val Blanc XX). Breeder J van Tilburg Thijs, owner Sarah Tyler EvansBritish Eventing Young Horse
    • Four-year-old award: Rowley Farm Houdini, (SHB (GB)) s: Primmores Pioneer d: Just Sapphire (s: Sportsnight). Breeder and owner, Susan Kerfoot
    • Five-year-old award: Mister Maccondy, (SHB (GB)) s: Accondy d: Matilda (s: Lord David S). Breeder and owner Ann Lawson
    • Seven-year-old award: Borough Penny Z, (AES) s: Cevin Z d: Sovereign Flight (s: Dutch Gold). Breeder and owner Sally BullenBritish Dressage young horse awards
    • Four-year-old award: Woodlander Farouche, (BHHS) s: First Heinrich d: Woodlander
      Dornroschen (s: Caprimond) Breeder and owner Woodlander Stud/Lynne Crowden
    • Five-year-old award: Retro Hit, (OLD) s: Royal Hit d: Calibra (s: Cardinar). Breeder Dan Henson, owner Mrs K Byron
    • Six-year-old award: Don Archie, (BHHS) s: Dimaggio d: St Pr Lorena (s: Lysander)
      Breeder Suzanne Lavandera, owner Carl Hester/Ann CoryBritish Showjumping young horse awards
    • Five-year-old award: Billy Manhattan, (AES). s: Cevin Z d: Amantico (s: Amanti)
      Breeder Donal Barnwell, owner Billy Stud
    • Six-year-old award: Strijder, (AES). s: Shearwater Olivier d: Jacaranda (s: Emilion). Breeder Georgie Crumley, owner Kevin Crumley
    • Seven-year-old award: Billy Angelo, (KWPN). s: Tangelo van de Zuuthoeve d: Siena (s: Kroongraaf). Breeder James Fisher, owner Julie SladeSports Pony Studbook Society performance and breeding award: Caesar, (Weser Ems/DRP). s: Condor d: Dina H (s: Askan). Breeder Benno Stolle, owners Beverley and Sam Brown

      SEIB and RoR Elite Performance Awards

    • SEIB Racehorse to Riding Horse Championship HOYS: Blue Java. s: Bluegrass Price d: Java Bay. Owner Tim Billington, rider Sonia Fitch-Peyton
    • Tattersalls Thoroughbred Show Horse Championship Hickstead: Chivola. s: Invincible Spirit d: Boudica. Owner Beth Smart, rider Victoria SmartSEIB & RoR Elite Performance Dressage Awards
      1st place: Theme Park. s: Classic Cliché d: Arcady. Owners David Trott and Derek Frankland, rider David Trott
      2nd place: Bold Hunter. s: Polish Precedent d: Pumpona. Owner and rider Ann Bostock

      SEIB & RoR Elite Performance Endurance Awards
      1st place: April’s Comait. s: Comaite d: Sweet Caroline. Owner and rider Val Cammock
      2nd place: Monkey Boy. s: Mazaad d: Zaretta. Owner and rider Sue Henry

      SEIB & RoR Elite Performance Showjumping Newcomers Award: Zolushka. s: Russian Revival d: Persian Myth. Owner and rider Emily Morris

      SEIB & RoR Elite Performance Eventing Awards
      1st place: Danaan Prince. s: Danehill Dancer d: Classic Queen. Owner Sue Brendish, rider Sam Griffiths
      2nd place: Alligator Alley. s: Roselier d: Ballyhoura Lady. Owner and rider Matthew Heath

      Horse & Hound Outstanding Mare Award: St Pr Welunja (HAN). s: Weltmeyer d: St Pr Lunja (s: Lungau). Breeder Hermann Kahmann, owner Suzanne Lavandera

      British Equestrian Federation WEG Excellence Awards

    • Cool Mountain, Wetherbys. s: Primitive Rising d: Ice Lolly (s: Idiots Delight). Breeder Jane Pilkington, owner the Hon Teresa Stopford-Sackville
    • WH Bentley, SHB (GB). s: Arlequin des Sarts d: Lampton Rose (s: Copelan Quick Step). Breeders Mr and Mrs Philip Grant, owner John and Jane Eccles
    • Purdys Dream, SHB (GB). s: Fandor d: Purdy (s: San Michele XX). Breeder Mr G Worrall, owner Emma Sheardown
    • Teddy, WPCS. Pedigree unknown. Owner Sally Ann Brown
    • Academy Award, SSH. s: Purioso d: Bofina (s: Meridiaan). Breeder Steve Ross, owners Elaine Hoeg, J Balshaw, C Phillips, M Sweeney, C EvansEquestrian Edge Meritoire: Henk Minderman

    You may like...

    Stallions at Stud