European eventing squads announced

  • The senior, young rider and junior eventing squads for the Europeans have been announced

    The defending British squad at the European three-day event championships at Pau, France (11-14 October) has been named.

    The four-strong team will include reigning champion Pippa Funnell, riding Pitt Lewthwaite Syndicate’s Supreme Rock, her Olympic team-mates Leslie Law with Shearwater Insurance’s Shear H20 or Shear L’Eau and Jeanette Brakewell (Over To You) plus Rodney Powell with the Bouchers’ Flintstone lV.

    The two individuals are William Fox-Pitt, back on the squad after a four-year absence, with either Jayne Apter’s Stunning, or Mary Guinness’s Tamarillo, and Tina Cook (nee Gifford), a member of the winning 1999 team, with J & E Sedgwick’s Captain Christy.

    All of the horses will travel, ensuring a reserve horse is available if required, but no reserve rider has been named so that all other shortlisted riders can go to Burghley.

    Junior squad

    The junior British eventing team, which is heading for the Europeans at Walldorf in Germany later this week, includes:

      Victoria Abbot (Fabuleux Du Fief)
      Sarah Dow (Master Stroller)
      Olivia Haddow (Mondana Star)
      Amelia Harris (American Gigolo)
      Harry Meade (Loch Luichart)
      Abby Walters (Uther Pendragon II)

    The reserves are Brett Kenyon, Arabella Higham and Charlotte Slater.

    Young rider squad

    The Hartpury College Young Rider squad for the European Eventing Championships at Waregem in Belgium on 6-9 September includes:

      Clare Chamberlayne (Headley Kingdom)
      Piggy French (Flintlock II)
      Jenny Julian (Rathmore Diamond)
      Kylie Roddy (Kyrenejenellas Boy)
      Rhian Smith (Bush Powder)
      Helen West (Chaos or Hollyhill Jovine)

    The team reserves are Victoria Laing, Charlotte Balfour and Vanessa Bertrand.

    You may like...