BE celebrates the best of 2004

  • William Fox-Pitt won the Tony Collings Memorial Trophy for being the British rider who gained the highest number of points during the season for the fourth year in succession at the BE annual award ceremony which took place during the “Gods & Goddesses” Ball in Birmingham at the weekend.

    Despite suffering huge disappointment when Tamarillo was injured at the Olympics in Athens, William has once again proved impressive strength in depth across the 2004 season and amassed 1117 points with his strong stable of 17 horses.

    High points of the season for the British team member included a win at Badminton despite atrocious weather conditions with Tamarillo, first place at Saumur CCI*** with Tom Cruise II and a triumph at Thirlestane Castle CIC*** for Stunning who has now bowed out of competition.

    Leslie Law’s (pictured) outstanding performance in Athens was acknowledged with a new annual award, which has been introduced to honour the outgoing BE chairman, Jane Holderness-Roddam. The Jane Holderness-Roddam Trophy, which is a bronze of an event horse’s head, will go annually to the highest placed senior rider in the championship competition of that particular year.

    While British team members regularly feature in the annual awards, the consistent performances of Bumble Thomas and The Psephologist during the 2004 season have been rewarded with three awards for the partnership.

    The Calcutta Light Horse Trophy, which is presented to the owners of the British horse gaining the highest number of points, went to The Psephologist’s owners Richenda Broad and her husband, Professor Colin Rallings. Two top three placings at four star events has secured The Psephologist 370 points this season beating his nearest rivals, Olympians Shear L’eau and Over to You by more than 80 points.

    The Psephologist was also the British-bred, owned and ridden horse who gained the highest number of points during the 2004 season and, as a result, the Wide Awake Trophy went to his breeder Judy Ramsey.

    And to top her already amazing season, which could have only been made more memorable if an Athens call-up had came her way, Bumble Thomas was awarded the Martin Whiteley Trophy. This trophy is presented each year to the British rider gaining the most points on one horse who has never been entitled to wear a Union Jack badge and who has not previously won the trophy.

    Other awards

    • Jemima Johnson Memorial Trophy: Chris King
    • Edy Goldman Trophy: Lucy Holliday
    • Sir John Burder Trophy: Isabelle Taylor
    • Hubert Allfrey Trophy: Francesca Ludlam
    • Jane Rook Trophy: Tara Morrison.
    • British Eventing Awards: Janet Benney, Ann Ide-Smith, Sandy James, Michael Monks, Genevieve Murphy, Vivien Thursby, Michael Spackman, Brig John Wright
    • Honourary Life Membership: Roger Day, Colin Furness, Leslie Law, John Smith
    • Special Awards: Ian Beattie

    You may like...