Pony Clubs battle for Prince Philip Cup

  • Oakley Hunt West triumphed at HOYS to lift the prestigous Prince Philip Cup for the third time

    The Oakley Hunt West branch of the Pony Club fought off five other pony club teams from around the country to claim this year’s Prince Philip Cup. This was the third triumph in this prestigious competition for the Oakley, who last won in 1997 when they ended the Eglinton’s five-year run.

    The Oakley held a healthy lead coming into the final session, but North Warwickshire’s young team provided a serious challenge. It all came down to the final game, the big sack, and a superhuman effort saw Oakley cross the finish line in front.

    The team of Gemma Green, Holly Hawsam, Claudia Frost,Lauren Poole, Charlotte Castle and reserve rider Lucy Underwood, was trained by Maureen Thomas, a true enthusiast who also trained the 1997 winning team.

    “We knew we had a chance as four of the team had been here before, which really helps, but wehad a really slow start to the week and I could only hope that things got better,” said Maureen.

    The West Perthshire squad of Lucy Workman, Rebecca Jackson, Lauren Beattie, Andrew Lightboody, Darren Kennedy and Sophie Jackson dominated the sessions at the beginning of the week to become worthy winners of the HorseIT Shield.

    Read all the Horse of the Year Show reports in this week’s issue of Horse & Hound magazine, available in your newsagents from Thursday 11 October, or click here to subscribe.