Ginny Elliot reveals Irish eventing squad for 2009

  • Horse Sport Ireland’s high performance manager Ginny Elliot has named her 18-strong senior eventing squad for 2009.

    Ireland’s Hong Kong Olympic team of Geoff Curran, Niall Griffin, Louise Lyons, Austin O’Connor and Patricia Ryan have all been re-selected. Geoff and Austin each have three horses on the squad.

    The list is provisional pending a veterinary and farriery assessment.

    Four-time Olympic medallist Ginny Elliot is looking forward to her second year in the role.
    “Having started only last March and then qualifying for the Olympics, things were quite rushed,” she said. “This year we have more time to plan and our main goal will be the European Championships at Fontainebleau in France next September.”

    Ginny also plans to introduce a development squad of promising riders and horses. She said: “We have written to all Ireland’s international riders seeking expressions of interest and have received a huge response. This squad will be announced shortly.”

    Senior Irish eventing squad 2009
    Geoff Curran (Balladeer Alfred, Kilkishen, The Jump Jet)
    Brian Curran Cournane (The Sally Rod)
    Sally Corscadden (Millridge Kalmar)
    Ciaran Glynn (GFG Killossery Kruisita)
    Niall Griffin (Lorgaine)
    Mark Kyle (Step In Time)
    Louise Lyons (Watership Down, Murphy’s Miracle)
    Joseph Murphy (Master Boy)
    Jim Newsam (Lara’s Song)
    Austin O’Connor (Hobby Du Mee, Pocket Rocket, Lily Of The West)
    Michael Owen (King Bob)
    Sasha Pemble (I’ve Been Dun, Hyanie D’Aubrie)
    Elizabeth Power (Kilpatrick River)
    Patricia Ryan (Fernhill Clover Mist)
    Michael Ryan (Master Mexico)
    George Russell (Young Man, Super Seal)
    Steven Smith (Castlehill, Fernando)
    Sam Watson (Ballybolger Bushman)

    You may like...