Anky van Grunsven wins Amsterdam World Cup qualifier

  • Anky van Grunsven remains on great form in the 2007/2008 World Cup qualifying series, as she picked up her third win in Amsterdam.

    Riding her new kür composed by Wibi Soerjadi, Anky and IPS Salinero scored 83.85% to finish ahead of Imke Schellekens-Bartels on Hunter Douglas Sunrise. Third was British-based Finnish rider Kyra Kyrklund on Max.

    The chairman of the judges Wim Ernes said: “The first three riders were of a very special level. Anky, Imke and Kyra were top of the bill.”

    This was the first time that Anky had ridden her new freestyle in front of her home crowd and she received a typically enthusiastic response.

    “After a bit of an insecure start due to the crowd and some flashlights, I felt very happy with my horse and my test,” Anky van Grunsven said. “I am totally happy with my new freestyle music now. We have changed it a little after my first ride in London. Together with the continuing development and growth of Salinero, I cannot think of a nicer piece of music now than this one.”

    Imke Schellekens-Bartels blamed herself for a mistake in the second pirouette, which dropped her score to 79.00%.

    “I made an expensive mess around the second pirouette,” said Imke. “Hunter Douglas Sunrise is not to blame, she gave me a great feeling.”

    Kyra Kyrklund will now head to Neumünster after impressing the judges in Amsterdam. “It looks like I have a good chance of competing in the final after a good ride in Neumünster as well,” she said.

    “The relaxation and harmony of Max and Kyrklund was outstanding,” said chairman Ernes, who was “surprised” by the performance of Dutch-based British rider Camilla Sygall, who finish seventh riding D.J. on 71.90%. This was Camilla’s best performance to date in a World Cup qualifier.

    Amsterdam World Cup qualifier results

    1. IPS SALINERO Anky van Grunsven NED 83.85%
    2. HUNTER DOUGLAS SUNRISE Imke Sxchellekens-Bartels NED 79.00%
    3. MAX Kyra Kyrklund FIN 78.80%
    4. RIGOLETTO Nathalie zu Sayn Wittgenstein DEN 74.30%
    5. JEFF Stéphanie Peters NED 73.70%
    6. GREDSTEDSGARD CASIMIR Andreas Helgstrand DEN 72.00%
    7. D.J. Camilla Sygall GBR 71.90%
    8. PAGANINI Jeroen Devroe BEL 70.80%
    9. BMC KIGALI Marlies van Baalen NED 70.40%
    10. GUINESS 888 Louise Nathhorst SWE 69.95%

    You may like...