Vote for your Grand National heroes for the Hall of Fame

  • Horse & Hound is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn commission on some of the items you choose to buy. Learn more
  • Racing fans can vote for their Aintree heroes to be inducted into this year’s Grand National Hall of Fame.

    Ten “legends” are on the shortlist — including dual Grand National winning jockey Ruby Walsh [with Hedgehunter, 2005, and Papillion, 2000].

    Trevor Hemmings — owner of winners Ballabriggs and Hedgehunter, as well as Zara Phillips’s Olympic partner High Kingdom — is also on the list.

    As is Golden Miller — the only horse ever to win the Gold Cup and Grand National in the same year [1934].

    Other contenders are:
    Tim Forster [one of only seven trainers to win three Grand Nationals],
    Duke of Albuquerque [rode seven times as an amateur]
    Neville Crump [trained three winners and five placed horses]
    Ernie Piggott [won three times as a jockey]
    Reynoldstown [back-to-back winner ins 1935/36]
    Richard Pitman [involved with the race for 45 years, both as a jockey and then broadcaster]
    Dick Francis [crime writer and jockey of Devon Loch]

    The hall of fame was launched three years ago to celebrate the greats in Grand National history.

    The shortlist was compiled by a panel, who came up with 10 “legends” both horse and human from the 1830s to the present. And their fate is now in the public’s hands, as only five on the shortlist will make the hall of fame.

    There will be a ceremony at Aintree racecourse on Grand National day (Saturday 6 April).

    To vote visit: www.grandnationallegends.com

    You may like...