Default Liver fluke in horses

Anyone got any experiences? Did horse recover, symptoms treatment etc

Old nag

Default Re: Liver fluke in horses

I've no experience of this but have read of a couple of horses with it and another couple treated successfully for it as educated guesses. I imagine recovery depends on the extent of any liver damage but vets have to use a flukicide and to my knowledge none are licensed for horses. I believe faeces can be screened for eggs but you have to ask specifically as it's a different test to other worm eggs.
    All the ones I've read about made good recoveries.

my sister's cob has been loosing weight (not drastic but enough to cause concern in a super good doer) so we had the vet come out and he thinks he may have a liver fluke burden. Treatment is the drug that is licensed for cattle/sheep but it is safe for horses, just not licensed. Our vet has said that confirmed diagnosis requires biopsies etc but because horses usually have a low burden it's not unusual to not get a positive biospy even if they do have the fluke. Treatment is safe, effective and cheap.

Blood tests showed elevated liver enzymes in all 6 of my ponies in June 2012. I was asking for monthly bloods at the time as was monitoring muscle enzymes in response to elevated muscle enzymes due to a possible selenium deficiency.

Ponies continued to look very well throughout, although the worst affected pony did become very nappy in even just gentle, walk-only ridden work.

Over the next few months I had a total of about a dozen poo samples tested for liver fluke (2 from most ponies, and 3 from the 2 worst affected). It wasn't til the last 2 tests in October that ONE fluke egg was found in a 3g sample of poo from the worst affected pony, and him only.

On that basis, the vet prescribed Fasinex under the guidance of David Sutton at Glasgow uni who has a particular interest in liver fluke in horses.