Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Veteran

Default Who's horses live out 24/7?

Just a wondering really. I'm looking for a loan horse and will need him/her to live out 24/7, with either a field shelter or a nice high hedge to shelter under.

My old full TB lived out probably 85% of the time and was very happy (in fact he disliked being in and would whinny when you brought his turnout rug!), he only really came in if my sister brought her mare in because he wouldn't stay out alone. So I figure that if he can as a full TB (of 24 years) then most others will be OK too.

I've only phoned a couple of adverts so far and the owners are generally reluctant over the living out 24/7 thing. I'm not searching for a full TB, just a nice hack +/- a bit of low level dressage, so breed/type doesn't really matter.

So who's horses live out and what types are they? I'm starting to worry that no one will loan me their horse to live in a good old fashioned, and let's face it, totally natural, field.

I'm a vet!

Old nag

Default Re: Who's horses live out 24/7?

Well - I have an old TB, an anglo-arab and two arabs and the poor beasts live out all year on a hillside in Wales.

ETA a photo of the grey tucking into the hay when we had weeks of snow. (winter 2010-11)

I have an arab out 24/7. I did have 2 arabs out 24/7 but the older one died last year at nearly 34. She hated coming in. even when we had very deep snow, horses were out - there were several shed collapsing due to the weight of snow on the roof and I wasn't going to risk it - they thrived being left out and were fed hay as they couldn't dig deep enough for the grass!

2 wrongs don't make a right but three lefts do
    Will never forget my golden girlie

Veteran

Mine, arabs, an anglo, and a tb/shire. They are all so much better liviing out.