Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default 2.5 acre 'Perfect Paddock' - Advice on purchase / livery price

Hello everyone )

I would be really grateful for some advice and opinion on the purchase price or livery cost for a 2.5 acre 'perfect paddock'.

I am a university business management student and am writing an essay which shows the link between good equine facilities and countryside management / conservation. The 'perfect paddock' is a theoretical design which takes into account the needs of the horse, the owner and the environment.

I will explain what the 'perfect paddock' is and would be extremely grateful for any feedback with regard to design, and most importantly, the expected cost to the owner, either as purchase price, or the expected rental value as a livery.

The 'perfect paddock is 2.5 acres of good quality grazing land surrounded by responsibly sourced timber post and rail fencing (topped with electric tape to prevent chewing, leaning etc). The paddock is divided into 2 (1 acre each) by post and rail fencing incorporating a gate to help with grass management. The gate can obviously be left open to provide constant access to both paddocks if required. The paddocks both have self filling water troughs.

The facilities are all made from treated wood and include 2 stables, a tack room, a covered grooming area, a hay store, a toilet (plumbed into septic tank) and electricity supply provided by solar panels fitted to the roofs.

There is also a 20m x 40m outdoor arena, surrounded by post and rail fencing.

In my essay I am trying to create the 'perfect paddock' for both horse and owner (obviously within reason, ie no jacuzzi suggestions please!) so any suggestions on improving the design etc would be appreciated.