Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default What IS a novice rider?

What do you consider the definition of a novice rider? This terms seems to encompass everything from someone who is slightly more advanced than a complete beginner, to someone who has ridden for 20 years but happily competes at prelim dressage and enjoys hacking. Does that mean about 90% of amateur horse owners are classed as novices??!

Just curious, as when listening to converstions between trainers, they refer to lots of good riders I know as being of novice standard. I mean, I appreciate the art of riding is continually improved over a lifetime and never perfected, but when does one ever leave the realms of a novice?

(From an eternal novice)

Default Re: What IS a novice rider?

Depends in which context, in the worlds of eventing a novice rider is capable of jumping a 1.20 track, whilst BSJA Novice classes are 3ft! But then In the terms of selling horses a novice rider would be someone who could not handle a slightly fresh horse, someone who was not experienced or had not been riding for long. Someone who was may be nervous, or did not have any feel.

In my opinion a novice rider is someone who is unable to improve a horses way of going, they are capable of riding a well mannered and trained horse. But not experienced or capable of bringing on a youngster or riding a sharp or difficult horse!

I would say that it refers to experience rather than ability. I know old boys who hunt, they have 50 plus years of experience but have lost the ability they had. There are kids who have been riding a couple of years who have massive ability compared to the old boys... but little experience! The kids are the novices and they could learn a thing or two from the old boys!

Schoolmaster

[ QUOTE ]