Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Learning to ride at age 50. Advice wanted

Hello all,
    At the age of 50 i've decided to learn to ride. it's something that has always appealed but I've never tried before. I've had one lesson which I enjoyed but it was with a group of children & I felt rather out of place.
    I would welcome any advice/ experiences of anyone who has been in my position. I live in East sussex.
    ARC

Default Re: Learning to ride at age 50. Advice wanted

i started to ride after 15 years again recently and then progressed to owning my own. take it easy and dont pressure yourself, i thought i was still a kid again and would need a month out before i would be out charging round xcountry courses! Just relax get a good school and kind instructor who gives you confidence- why not see if someone on here can recmmend one - and enjoy!

Schoolmaster

Get a good instructor who teaches by positive reinforcement and doesn't treat you as if you were a retarded 12 year old.

it took me four tries (coming back into riding at 40) to find someone who didn't feel as if they were patronising me, but *did* move my riding forward. If it helps, I went from being a total novice to getting 54% in my first ever prelim test. I know this isn't huge, but it was a fantastic feeling.

good luck - it's worth it (and yes, I have my own pony now)

E
    <font color="#7C211E">"Enlightenment is a journey of no distance to a place you never left." </font>

Ask around different places. Some riding schools round here (Bucks) do group lessons for adult beginners and for people who are free in the day there are cut price mum's lessons with a cup of tea afterwards.
    Spider

Never let age be a barrier to want you want to do! If you can afford it, I would book a few private lessons then join an adult riding lesson - I would hate being with a children's lesson!
    The key to learning is to enjoy it and relax.